Governing Board‌

Mr. Rajendra Joshi


Mr. Joshi is the founder and Managing Trustee of SAATH. He has initiated and developed the Integrated Slum Development Program. He is also a Director of Incube Social Venture Fund and is a Chair of YUVA Urban Initiatives.

Ms. Mani Mistry Elavia


Ms. Archana Shrivastava


Archana Shrivastava is an independent Trainer, Researcher and Consultant.

Mr. Gagan Sethi


Gagan Sethi is a recognised OD consultant and Leadership and Governance trainer. He was the Founder Managing Trustee of Janvikas, is the current chair of Dalit Foundation, Navsarjan and the Human and Institutional Forum (HIDF) and the Vice President of Centre for Social Justice and Sahjeevan. He is also the Director of YUVA Consulting.

Ms. Kavitha Krishnamoorthy


Kavitha Krishnamoorthy is vastly experience in the field of child rights She is currently based in Bangalore, where she has initiated an organisation Kilikili which works on Inclusive Play i.e. children of all abilities playing together. She was formerly Director of YUVA’s urban programmes.

Ms. Nisreen Ebrahim


Nisreen’s primary interests are micro-enterprise and livelihood issues for the marginalised. She set up and is the current CEO at the Rangoonwala Foundation (India) which hosts a multi-sectoral programme covering community services, health, education, livelihoods and disability.

Mr. Amitabh Behar


Amitabh Behar is the Executive Director of the National Foundation for India (NFI). Amitabh’s areas of interest are governance and civil society. He is one of the leading experts of people-centered advocacy and is also the Co-chair of the Global Call to Action Against Poverty (GCAP), the Convener of National Social Watch Coalition.

Mr. Mohan Surve


Mohan Surve is currently the CEO at Vikas Sahyog Pratisthan, Governing Board member of YUVA (Rural) Association, Chairman of Samruddhi Credit Cooperative Society and President of Shravan Housing Cooperative Society.

Ms. Nalini Shekar


Ms. Roshni Nuggehalli

Ex-officio member of the Governing Board

Roshni Nuggehalli is the current Executive Director of YUVA. She works on issues of urban poverty, migration, informal economy and gender justice. She has also worked with the child rights movement, facilitating children’s research and advocacy towards claiming their rights.

The Board of YUVA does not comprise any staff member. YUVA follows the
practices of good governance and does not provide any honorarium or remuneration
to its Governing Board members.

Our Founder

Minar Pimple

Minar Pimple is the Founder of Youth for Unity and Voluntary Action.

During his own youth, he foresaw the role of people his age in the participatory planning processes of the city. This drove him to form YUVA, a youth-led social change, in 1984. Minar went on to lead the organisation expanding it to acquire the form of a voluntary organisation that promotes human rights and sustainable development in India’s urban and rural poor. He served as YUVA’s CEO from 1984 to 2004.

Subsequently, Minar was the Regional Director of the United Nations Millennium Campaign where he led the operations in Asia-Pacific, Executive Director of People’s Movement for Human Rights Learning (PDHRE). Currently, Minar Pimple is the Senior Director of Global Operations at Amnesty International.